Willie Kissane Trophy

For 20 years, VEC Football Club ran the Willie Kissane Tournament between invited teams (8) every August from 1998 to 2017 in Willie’s memory. [For the first three years, 1998, 1999 & 2000, only two teams competed]

This is Willie’s boot which was painted in bronze and presented to the club by Willie’s wife, Susan, following his untimely death in 1997.

Winners over the 20 years:

2017CYM BeechwoodVEC Fc
2016Leicester CelticCYM Beechwood
2015Leicester CelticVEC Fc
2014Knocklyon Utd.VEC Fc
2013Sandyford Utd.Leicester Celtic
2012Leicester CelticCYM Terenure
2011Terenure FcLeicester Celtic
2010VEC Fc*Leicester Celtic
2009Knocklyon Utd.Lower Crumlin
2008Knocklyon Utd.VEC Fc
2007Templeogue Utd.Parkvale
2006Templeogue Utd.Knocklyon Utd.
2005VEC FcL
2004Leicester CelticKnocklyon Utd.
2003VEC FcKnocklyon Utd.
2002CYM TerenureVEC Fc
2001Leicester CelticCYM Terenure
2000VEC FcCYM Terenure
1999CYM TerenureVEC Fc
1998VEC FcCYM Terenure

* VEC Winning Squad 2010: Darragh McGinley, Rory O’Dwyer, Stephen Quin, Peter Morrissey, Ross Kavanagh, Neil Spring, Rav Jennings, Stephen Van Loon, Joey Byrne, Simon Roche, Anthony Dunne, Gavin O’Sullivan, Simo McCartney, Sean Kerr, Michael Keating, Ian O’Neill.

The VEC squad from the 2017 Willie Kissane Final

Click on image to enlarge.